Home > General > Chill out – What is your idea of relaxation?

Chill out – What is your idea of relaxation?

When I just want to chill out or relax, I find peace in soothing music – instrumental, pop or bollywood . I sometimes also grab a book and read. A weekend getaway is also one of my favourite ideas to rest and rejuvenate. On such trips, I try to travel with bare minimum luggage and I try to avoid phone calls or mails.

On a recent trip to Bintan, we enjoyed a traditional Indonesian massage followed by sauna and jacuzzi. It was really invigorating.

Closer to home, I enjoy light exercise like jogging or cycling which are great for stress relief. Playing a musical instrument also takes your mind off mundane chores. I have been learning to play the Indian classical violin for the past 2 years.

I have also been following a routing of waking up early in the morning for prayer and meditation. This time of the day when it is dawn is ideal as there is solitude and peace.This helps me to remain focused on my work and also to keep my thoughts positive.

I also like to take pictures of the clouds, the skies, sunrises and sunsets.

Occasionally, I would play a board game with my child or spend some time with her.

On my table is a drawing block which I use to jot down ideas or anything to remember. I also write down a poem when I am inspired. Sometimes, I just sketch and colour.

During the weekend, I enjoy an afternoon siesta for atleast 2 hours-this is something very refreshing.

How do you find ways to relax? Let me know how you chill out

Categories: General Tags: , , , , ,
  1. July 4, 2012 at 10:12 am

    I can see many of my own relaxation ways in your list. Music is indeed one of the ways to forget all the tensions of the world. Besides that, I love weekend getaways too – completely wireless and tech free.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

