Home > General > Day 30 – Your daughter tells you she is bringing home her boyfriend for dinner. When they arrive, she introduces you to a man who is not your same race. Sometime during dinner she announces that they have been married for the last six months. What bothers you more? The difference in race or being excluded from the wedding…

Day 30 – Your daughter tells you she is bringing home her boyfriend for dinner. When they arrive, she introduces you to a man who is not your same race. Sometime during dinner she announces that they have been married for the last six months. What bothers you more? The difference in race or being excluded from the wedding…

 

I think as parents we have to impart the right values and education to our children until they are independent.  After that we have no control over their choices and decisions and we have to respect their choice.  Today, we live in a globalised world and we cannot be so narrow minded as to thrust our choices upon our children.  Ofcourse, it is easy to say but there are a lot of considerations and adjustments when it comes to living with a person from another race.   But, once she has made her choice, I think I will respect it.

However, I would feel bad if I am excluded from the wedding.  As that shows a lack of trust and understanding.

 

Categories: General Tags: ,
  1. May 2, 2012 at 4:22 pm

    Hi I would like to nominate you for the sunshine blog. Kindly check out my blog post for more details on what to do. You can take the image from there.

    http://wp.me/p1qeBC-gL

    Regards and wishes

  2. May 5, 2012 at 8:47 pm

    Nice blog, great job! Love it 🙂

  3. May 7, 2012 at 7:59 pm

    You’re right, I would feel awful if my own children thought they couldn’t trust me or that I wouldn’t understand. It’d take me a while to forgive myself for building such a wall of communication.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

