Home > General > Day 24 — Given the choice between having to live the rest of my life without my voice, or living the rest of my life without the ability to hear, I would choose…

Day 24 — Given the choice between having to live the rest of my life without my voice, or living the rest of my life without the ability to hear, I would choose…

 

This question has put me in a dilemma (Morton’s fork situation).   Our voice is our expression and a vital part of everyday communication.  How we speak, how we articulate, our voice modulation, the ability to sing, to shout  and to laugh are all different expressions of our voice.  I am not loquacious by nature but still I believe that our voice is vital.  Even for a day – when you cannot talk to your loved ones, when you cannot wish them, express your love, your emotions, laughter, etc  it is a real predicament to be in.

If I am unable to hear it would  mean that I would not be able to listen to all the good music, discussions,  noise, etc. But  a totally silent world would also be scary.  Also, these senses are inter-related .. for eg.  You wouldn’t want to talk if you are unable to listen.

Given this choice, for me  – I would go with being deaf (I have to sacrifice the good music).  But it also means cutting off the gossip, loud noises and disturbances.  I guess – people would have to learn sign language inorder to communicate with me.

Categories: General Tags: , ,
  1. April 24, 2012 at 12:54 pm

    I can tell you put a lot of thought into this response. I like your reasoning.

  2. April 24, 2012 at 7:54 pm

    Sign language can definitely work 🙂

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

