Home > General > 10 questions my daughter asked me …??

10 questions my daughter asked me …??

(These questions were put to me by my daughter Soumya who is 8+ years old and is in Pri-3. I have kept her words intact )

  1.  How was the first person on earth created?
  2. How did he/she find another person to marry?
  3. Who was first, male or female?
  4. If they reproduced and reproduced, we must have developed.  Does that mean that we are all related?
  5. If we are all related, how did we split into so many families?
  6. Some scientists say that we developed from apes but where did the apes come from?
  7. After the first man and lady reproduced, how did their son/daughter find another person to marry?
  8. What if there was no first person on earth and we didn’t come from apes, how were we created?
  9. Did we develop from micro-organisms or bacteria?
  10.  How did they make language?
Categories: General Tags: ,
  1. April 19, 2011 at 4:03 pm

    I am puzzled ! what must be answers!

    • April 19, 2011 at 11:05 pm

      I feel questions from children can leave us speechlessa at times. It gets us thinking:)

  2. April 19, 2011 at 5:21 pm

    Curious and wide-eyed… kids can make us think in so many different ways! 🙂

  3. April 19, 2011 at 8:50 pm

    The questions leading to the most fundamental concerns. origin of humans through creation or evolution.

    i have taught my children, when they asked similar questions that theory of creation cannot give answers to these questions in a satisfactory answer. But in the end it depends of what you think as a parent.

    NB. Sajeev, I have subscribed to this blog.

    • April 19, 2011 at 11:06 pm

      Hi Prasanna, thanks for your comment:-)

  4. April 20, 2011 at 6:38 am

    brilliant!
    curious to know what your answers were 🙂

  5. April 20, 2011 at 11:30 am

    Hi all.. thanks for your comments.. My daughter is very interested in science and I didn’t want to thrust my concepts into her mind at this time. I told her that science has many theories but none are able to answer the question of creation beyond a doubt, as they are all premised on some assumptions. I wonder if she will comprehend the big bang theory, quantum mechanics,singularity and darwins theory of the origin of species at this time but I just gave her a gist of these theories.
    Also, I feel that as a parent we can inculcate some fundamental concepts of science and spirituality but it is important that we allow them to reason, to think and help them to have their own ideas as there is no one correct answer to these questions:)

  6. April 21, 2011 at 5:22 am

    That was a great compilation of her questions and I loved the reply you have given to the comments.

    All the best to the little budding scientist!

  7. April 21, 2011 at 11:54 am

    Thanks zephyr:-)

  8. April 22, 2011 at 7:31 am

    really puzzling questions,dont think anyone will have answers to these

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

